December 05, 2003
Weird

I just received a very odd email. Clearly it's a scam of some kind, but I can't work out exactly what's going on.

The mail's "Subject" was "Transaction Receipt (UKCards)", and it claimed to be from "UKCards [receipt@ukcards.com]". The body of the mail was as follows:

"Please note: All charges to your statement
will appear in the name "UKCARDS LIMITED".

Order Information
Amount: £399.95
Currency: GBP
Merchant Name: HUNTINGDON MAIL ORDER
Description: iPod Music Player 40GB

Customer Service
Telephone: 01480 456111
Email: N/A

Delivery Address
47 Silver Street, London, NW1 5TR

If you have any questions on the delivery
of this order or product details please contact
the merchant directly using the above details."

Needless to say, I've placed no such order. (I only wish I could. Mmmm, iPod.)

Now, no credit card details are mentioned - certainly 'cos they don't have my credit card details. "NW1 5TR" isn't a valid postcode, and there is no Silver Street anywhere in NW1.

Here's the really funny bit - 01480 456111 is the phone number for the Cambridgeshire Constabulary. WTF is going on here?

Update: Bogus Apple iPod spam attempts to launch attack on police phone system, Sophos comments. "On 8 December, police announced that a 21-year-old man has been arrested and released on bail in connection with the incident."

Posted to The Internet by Simon Brunning at December 05, 2003 02:30 PM
Comments

I got that too - It's either a email-harvesting attempt, looking for live responses, or a denial-of-service attempt on the police. Personally, I suspect the former, with the phone number just being one they found on the web.

Posted by: Gwyn Evans on December 5, 2003 10:01 PM

One more data point - the Cambridgeshire Constabulary's headquarters is in Huntingdon. So, I now suspect a denial-of-service attempt.

Posted by: Simon Brunning on December 8, 2003 09:10 AM

I got one of those as well. Huntingdon Mail Order doesn't exist. I think it's an elaborate revenge attack on the Cambridgeshire police. When I rang the number, the person on the other end said to check my bank and credit card statements in case the £399.95 had been taken from it.

Posted by: David Wright on December 8, 2003 01:07 PM

I too have received this and never heard of it/them. I am seriously worried about it. I couldnt afford £400 from any where. I am new to using my PC and the internet and tried Google from a suggestion at work. What do I do. My wife thinks I am up to something.

Posted by: Sam Kerrison on December 8, 2003 04:38 PM

Sam - I'd just ignore it, but check your credit card as soon as you can.
Although, unless you see your credit card details in the email, or you typically use the card over the web, ask yourself if/how they could possibly have your card number... if neither of those is the case, then they must be just fishing, mustn't they?

Posted by: Tracey on December 10, 2003 12:56 PM

Heh... I got this too. BTW... did you know you now come up first for a google search for "HUNTINGDON MAIL ORDER" :o)

Thats how I got here!

Posted by: Andy on December 10, 2003 02:42 PM

I just got this today, in the USA, but it is now a bit different - it has an attachment: "iPod Purchase Agreement.zip" which contains "iPod Purchase Agreement.scr", which places "BEGONIA.EXE" in the C:\Windows\System folder (Win98SE). Google returned nothing when searching for "BEGONIA.EXE", but I'll bet it is a keystroke logger. It cannot be deleted, as it "is being used by Windows". I immediately rebooted in DOS mode and deleted it.

Posted by: nerdeaux on August 6, 2005 06:52 PM

I just got hit by it in Canada.

I placed the begonia.exe in system32 folder.

I killed it using task manager. deleted the file and then rebooted. I did a through search of the hard drive and it is dead like the pharoahs!

Just like the SOB who sent it to me!!!!!

Posted by: Gary on August 6, 2005 08:14 PM

Oops - I also received the email today but with the following no. 0845 6060 234 which is a Job Centre no - someone got a beef against them?

Will clear the Begonia.exe from system, though my anit-virus, anti-spam gear should have stopped it.
Cheers

Posted by: Pip on August 6, 2005 10:52 PM

I got hit today - resisted the request to open the zipped attachment - so should be ok.

Posted by: Frank on August 7, 2005 08:35 AM

Got one too. However McAfee intercepted it and reported malware.n in the attached zip file. GL

Posted by: G. Labrijn on August 7, 2005 04:47 PM

They are at it again, just with a new phone number and an attachment saying that you need to open it to cancel the order.

I've just deleted it, but will check my bank details, just in case.

Posted by: Frank on August 7, 2005 09:25 PM

Just got one myself got through to JobSeekers
but they couldn't help!!!!!!!!

Posted by: b.hyde on August 8, 2005 08:23 AM

Has anyone who got one of these actually lost money
I assume not or would have heard?????

Posted by: bradley on August 8, 2005 08:34 AM

Just go t it today, number is the Job Seekers place. have reported it to trading standards. Dodgy, but will check bank statement just in case.

Posted by: Dave Hill on August 9, 2005 10:20 AM

001123.. Huh, really? :)

Posted by: www.brunningonline.net on June 3, 2011 03:22 AM

001123.. Nice :)

Posted by: www.brunningonline.net on June 3, 2011 07:28 AM

001123.. Outstanding :)

Posted by: www.brunningonline.net on June 5, 2011 03:42 AM

001123.. OMG! :)

Posted by: www.brunningonline.net on June 5, 2011 07:46 AM

001123.. Peachy :)

Posted by: www.brunningonline.net on June 18, 2011 05:25 PM
Post a comment
Name:


Email Address:


URL:



Comments:


Remember info?